Feeding and Nutrition :: What is an ideal diet for 6 year old female Red Ear Slider?

Turtle diets and eating habits discussed here.

Post Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:58 pm   What is an ideal diet for 6 year old female Red Ear Slider?

I have been feeding her erratically ever since I acquired her. I am new to turtle ownership, and I have read conflicting things. My jar of pellets says to feed 1 teaspoon to her each feeding, and then the book I read said to only feed every other day and overfeeding is bad. I have fed her iceburg lettuce (before I read it was bad), and then some blueberries, and some frozen shrimp treats, dried shrimp, pellets, and sticks (from petsmart). She has also eaten cherry tomatoes fresh from the garden. I tried raw broccoli, but she does not seem to like it very much. She ate all the other things. I also fed her some apple, and she liked that too. She always seems to be hungry, but the books I have read said they can beg even if they are not hungry. How many pellets should I feed her and how often? The jar says 1 teaspoon but others say head sized portion, which might be more like 1 tablespoon or more. Should I feed her every day or every other day or what? Twice a day, or once? And what would be the ideal diet for the week? Also, I would like my turtle to be a vegetarian as much as possible. I own a mouse, too, and resist the idea of feeding mice and live animals to my turtle (disgusting). Is there any way I can avoid doing that? I realize that shrimp were once live, but at least they were frozen or dried and weren't pets. Is there a way that I could make her a strict vegetarian and still ensure she will be healthy and get the right nutrients in the right proportions?

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
RedEarSliderOwner

Post Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:53 pm   Re: What is an ideal diet for 6 year old female Red Ear Slid