Habitat - Indoor :: Fast and Affordable Tank Set-Up for New Unexpected Owners

Turtle tank setups and other indoor configurations.

Post Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:11 am   Fast and Affordable Tank Set-Up for New Unexpected Owners

Hello Everyone, my name is Austin and this is my first post. First a little background on why I decided to make this guide.

I work in the pool business and about 6 months ago, I found a baby red eared slider (slightly larger than a quarter) trapped in a pool skimmer. I decided to keep him but I had never owned a water turtle or was I prepared with the right equipment so it was a complete surprise and I was learning on the fly. So I started doing tons of research. and I found a lot of my info from this site so I thought I would create a guide for those of you in my situation.

This is basically the bare minimum for a baby to juvenile size turtle. A bigger turtle would require larger equipment.

So here are the links to the pics of my setup and then I will explain all the info for everything:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5NeGt1LdE5iTmZ0dXM3M1cwM2M
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5NeGt1LdE5iUFVRQUF3ZTFGMnc
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5NeGt1LdE5iUGUxQjVwYzNVelU

1st is the Tank
It is just a basic 56 quart plastic Sterilite Storage Box. Which is basically a 15 gallon tank. They are only $5 at Target. But anything in the 15 - 20 gallon range will be fine.
*Eventually you will have to get a bigger bin but this equipment is sufficient for this size so lets go with this.

2nd is Lights