General Care Discussion :: First Time Nesting, Need Advice Please

Taking care of your turtle's overall health.

Post Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:20 am   First Time Nesting, Need Advice Please

Hi all, my female RES seems to be displaying all the symptoms of being gravid - restlessness, not eating, trying to climb out of her tank. I tried to confirm she has eggs, but I have to admit I'm a novice and have no idea if I'm feeling eggs or not. I built a nesting box (rubbermaid container and topsoil) and have tried keeping her in there several hours per day, but instead of digging all she does is try to climb the sides to escape, and each time ends up on her back. I could really use some advice. Worried she will get sick if she can't lay. Thanks for your time!
Augie

Post Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:42 pm   Re: First Time Nesting, Need Advice Please

Is it warm enough to take her outside? Any locations you think you can take her to? RES usually don't like nesting boxes.
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 2:41 pm   Re: First Time Nesting, Need Advice Please

Hi, thank you for the reply - yes, I am in Pennsylvania and it has been (mostly) warm enough that she could go outside. Do I put a pen around her, or just follow her around my property? How long should I let her wander before I give up for the day? Thank you for your time :)
Augie

Post Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:28 am   Re: First Time Nesting, Need Advice Please

She's going to want to look for dirt, not grass or lawn. So a garden might be suitable.... you can just follow her around while she looks for a spot. And you don't need to do it all day, she should have a preferred time of when and it's usually when she's restless.
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:01 am   Re: First Time Nesting, Need Advice Please