General Care Discussion :: Newbie Questions: Id, Habitat, Diet, Etc.

Taking care of your turtle's overall health.

Post Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 pm   Newbie Questions: Id, Habitat, Diet, Etc.

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to turtles, but not to reptiles (iguanas) or exotics (chinchillas). My father either has a painted turtle or a red ear slider which he is no longer able to care for. He's over 20 years old, about 5 inches from head to tail, active, eats well, but has some concerning marks on his plastron, needs a full habitat upgrade and vegetables added to his diet. I'm helping him out weekly, and will ultimately end up taking him sometime next year. After scouring the boards on here, I think I've figured out a plan of attack, but have reached the point where any input would be greatly appreciated.

So obviously step one is identifying whether he's a Painted or a RES. I was so overwhelmed by everything else that I forgot to check last weekend. However, I think he's an Eastern Painted, and I did get pics, so maybe you can help with that a bit! If not, I'll check for the red stripe behind the eyes when I visit on Sunday.

Existing Setup:
-20 gallon aquarium
-Submersible Fluval filter (that's failing miserably)
-ZooMed dock
-Basking lamp
-Reptomin pellets
-Turtle shaped calcium mineral block (I'm told this is given weekly)

Additions for this weekend:
-Red Leaf Lettuce, Green Leaf Lettuce, and Dandelion Greens
-Switching pellets to every other day (He's definitely overweight)
-Fluval 406 / Media Setup: Tray 1 (Bottom): Bio Foam, Tray 2: Polyester Batting, Tray 3: Carbon, Tray 4 (Top): Bio Media
-Mercury Vapor Bulb and the appropriate lamp
-Water testing
-A few large river rocks for entertainment

Additions in 2 weeks:
-IR thermometer
-Submersible Water heater
-Possible Air Stone

Longer Term:
-Separate Aquatic Garden with a different plant given weekly
-Upgrade to 50-60 gallon aquarium
-New dock

My questions:
1. Is this a Painted turtle or a RES?