General Care Discussion :: New RES setup, more experienced feedback please?

Taking care of your turtle's overall health.

Post Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 6:51 pm   New RES setup, more experienced feedback please?

Hi folks,

I'm new to the turtle world. I'm an experienced pet owner with 2 kitties, but this is my first tanked animal. I recently rescued a ~2+ inch RES from a friend who got it at a carnival ( :cry: ) as a hatchling about 6 or 7 months ago. For the past 6 months (before ~2.5 weeks ago when I took the turtle), the poor little guy NEVER left the water. It was in a 5 gallon tank with no lights, no heater, little decoration, and an exposed tank in a busy room. Despite that, the little guy has learned that people = food.

So needless to say, I couldn't take it anymore and now have myself a new buddy.

I have done lots of internet reading. But I was hoping that some more experienced owners might review my setup and give some input on my questions / issues below.

SETUP:
20 gal long tank (I know I will need to upgrade. I will be moving soon, and I would like to wait as long as I can to acquire larger items)
Aqueon QuietFlow internal filter- rated for 40 gal tank I think
Stick type water heater (100 watt)
ZooMed floating dock (small)
Double fixture lamp (with 75 watt basking bulb and separate UVB bulb), plus lamp bracket (I recently added the bracket because I needed to raise the water level- the water / dock are now only 4-5 inches down from the grate top, so the lights are few inches above that)
Small log thing, 2 plastic plants (that it loves to hide in), a small silk plant, some other misc small things and a bit of Anubias spp.

I would like to add a couple ghost shrimp and snails (maybe Mystery snails since they are a bit larger), although I know that especially the shrimp may very well get eaten.

FOOD: