Hi! Introduce yourselves here. :: HI! recently adopted a 6 year old female RES

Drop a post to say hi. Please ask care questions in the forums below.

Post Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2023 1:38 pm   HI! recently adopted a 6 year old female RES

Hello, my name is Blair! I live in Colorado, i love reptiles and insects. My favorite reptiles are turtles and pythons, and my favorite bugs are moths, dragonflies, and scarabs :) I have a few years of experience caring for reptiles (bearded dragons and ball pythons) and I've kept fish before (bettas and goldfish) but this is my first time keeping anything like a RES before. I've always been very daunted by aquaria as a hobby, never daring to keep anything more intense than a single betta in a 10 gallon -- but putting my turtle's tank together was easy, albeit a bit expensive haha!

Recently I adopted a turtle from one of my friends. The turtle was her younger brother's, and the poor thing was being pretty neglected. She caught her brother going to the lake to dump the turtle. The minute she offered the RES to me I jumped on the chance. She came to me in a 15 gallon with no heater, a light i dont think was even suited for reptiles (it barely gave off any heat and im pretty sure it wasnt a uvb), and one filter. Since then, I've moved her into a 50 gal with everything she needs: a heater, a 100 watt heat lamp, UVB, two filters adding up to 75 gallons of filtration, aquatic plants, snail buddies....She *loves* to eat frogbit and water spangles !