Hi! Introduce yourselves here. :: New to proper turtle care

Drop a post to say hi. Please ask care questions in the forums below.

Post Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:20 pm   New to proper turtle care

Hey y'all, I'm Sam and I'm fairly new to RES care. My older brother has kept his turtle living in total squalor for the past ~5 years and recently found out his new apartment won't allow him to have any pets, so I'll be taking it off his hands as soon as I have a totally new tank set up for it. I have done a bit of on and off research for proper care over the years and always intended to take the turtle from him so I am at the very least aware of basic habitat needs (lighting, basking area, heater, size of water area, heavy duty filter, etc)

I'll probably be posting questions frequently in the coming weeks as I gather up supplies before crossing state lines to go pick it up. I'm currently planning to get the Zoo Med 40-gal habitat kit (36" x 18" x 18") and then make adjustments as needed but the kit I checked out in-store seems to have a much better filter than the one shown on the zoomed website. In any case, any advice for lighting setups, light timers, and especially feeding is greatly appreciated! I want this poor turtle to finally have a great life.

I spent the majority of today just browsing through one of the forums here for above-tank basking areas and will likely have a lot of questions regarding that if the method I have in mind for an in-tank area ends up taking up too much space.
Sam_Wolfe

Post Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:09 am   Re: New to proper turtle care

Hello and welcome,