Hi! Introduce yourselves here. :: Whats in a Name...

Drop a post to say hi. Please ask care questions in the forums below.

Post Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 6:50 pm   Whats in a Name...

Howdy Y'all

Well since I'm a newbie to the turtle arena I guess I should introduce myself.

I have 2 RES', Names to be determined. I voted for Tank and Hummer. That was veto'd by the Fam. They liked Myrtle and Franklin :roll: but are still undecided

One is about 4 inches long the other about 3 in. The little one is very friendly and very active. The larger likes his privacy unless food is involved.

They seem very happy to swimming, basking and eating.

The family and I need help picking name. So Please suggest away.
BigCT

Post Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 7:02 pm   

Hi. If none of the names you mentioned pans out, does anything about their appearance stand out? I've named turtles by observing their behavior for a while since they do have distinct personalities/behavior (as you indicated); something usually comes to mind.

If you're not sure of their sex, you might want to pick a name that's unisex.

I didn't name my RES until a month after I got him. The little thing acted so silly and I was "convinced" it was a female that I named "her" Tilly (to rhyme with silly). Well, Tilly quickly grew and it soon became apparent "she" was a "he." His "official" name is now Tilford, but he's still being called Tilly for short. :)
marisa
Retired Mod

Post Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 7:58 pm   

I have this thing for Aerosmith..that's where my boys names came from. Pandora & Rocks (both aerosmith albums). My husband, however, refers to them as "The Pig" and "The Other One" because Rocks is an absolute hog, and bites the hand that feeds him. Pandora is really shy. It might sound silly to some, but most of my pets names have derived from my love for Aerosmith in one way or another :D
The things that come to those who wait may be the things that were left by those who got there first - Steven Tyler