Box Turtle and Tortoise Discussion :: CAN ANYONE HELP ME IDENTIFY MY TURTLE????

A general forum for those with an interest in land-based turtles.

Post Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:25 am   CAN ANYONE HELP ME IDENTIFY MY TURTLE????

hey guyssss

i am new at the turtle stuff.... but always wanted to have one

i'm from bangladesh...... so i m not getting much information here.... because everyone are into fish here

so can anyone tell me wat kind of turtle they are????.........store guy was just telling they don't grow is that true...

AND SORRY FOR THE BAD PICTURE QUALITY

Suhaib.sas

Post Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:47 am   Re: CAN ANYONE HELP ME IDENTIFY MY TURTLE????

They look like false map turtles. Please read up on their care: http://www.austinsturtlepage.com/Care/cs-falmap.htm

The info on this site is generally applicable to them too.
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 4:24 pm   Re: CAN ANYONE HELP ME IDENTIFY MY TURTLE????

Ah now there are photos of a turtle you dont see everyday here. Those are Indian Roofed Turtle(Pangshura tecta) appariently the rarest of all the subspecies.

No they do not stay smaller, females grow to about 8inches. Atp doesnt even have a caresheet on them but reading on them they are another turtle that has basic same care as res. So you can just look at the caresheet here and follow it and you will be good. Only difference never let temperatures for these guys go below 65 degrees Fahrenheit/ 18 degrees Celsius
Instagram: Diamondbacks4Life
Diamondbacks4Life

Post Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:42 am   Re: CAN ANYONE HELP ME IDENTIFY MY TURTLE????

Thank THANKS
Suhaib.sas

Post Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:36 am   Re: CAN ANYONE HELP ME IDENTIFY MY TURTLE????

They definitely need a bigger tank!!
1 Standard Poodle- Tegan
1 Ferret- Xander
2 RES- Raina and Sylvie
1 Betta- Lizardman
sflemin2

Post Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 9:44 am   Re: CAN ANYONE HELP ME IDENTIFY MY TURTLE????